Showing posts with label vmconfigt60b_xmg. Show all posts
Showing posts with label vmconfigt60b_xmg. Show all posts

23 August 2009

A Question that I had on using Picasa

Just posted this in
Google Help > Picasa > Discussions > Picasa for Mac (Labs) > PC / Mac Compatibility
(http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Picasa/thread?tid=0e2e942a3e7212d6&hl=en ):

I'm using a mac with OS X and running vmware fusion with windows XP. Despite what's being said above, I want, recklessly, to try and go back and forth between both windows and mac picasa. Each has some advantages -- i.e. the mac version is faster but the windows one handles geotagging. I find if I go back and forth with the current versions of the program (as of Aug. 2009), things actually kind of work. (This wasn't true with earlier versions.) However, after a bit of edits on the mac, the OS X version of picasa often will create two copies of each picture in a folder, one where my edits are not properly applied. This does not seem to happen to the PC copy. Refreshing the folder doesn't fix things. Moreover, checking the "hidden" picasa files (.picasa.ini file and .picasaoriginals on the mac) reveals that these are not duplicated in any way and don't seem corrupted. What's happening? One workaround that I discovered is that if I carefully do "Folder Menu: Remove from Picasa..." on the whole folder and then "File Menu: Add Folder to Picasa..." things are usually fixed. But I'd like a cleaner solution.

02 March 2008

Where one's stuff is splattered over windows

I find it frustrating that my "personal data" is often splattered all over different locations on Windows XP. Here's a list of some places that I've uncovered below. (My windows userid is "mbg".)

* List of recent files used in Office
C:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Application Data/Microsoft/Office/Recent

*
List of temp files
C:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Local Settings/Temp

* Contains list of profile directories
c:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Application Data/Thunderbird/profiles.ini

* contains X1 index files
C:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Local Settings/Application Data/X1 Desktop Search

* contains outlook data file
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook

* contains all of firefox's data, which is cleared by the clear private data command
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ingyn1a7.default
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\s2ocgep1.default

* contains all the pictures and videos from a palm sync, which don't seem to get deleted properly by the palm application.
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\My Documents\My Pictures\Palm Photos\mbgtre\Expansion card 1319\Palm
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\My Documents\My Pictures\Palm Photos\mbgtre\Internal\Palm
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\My Documents\My Pictures
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\My Documents\my videos\Palm Videos

* contains a listing of recent files opened
C:\Documents and Settings\mbg\recent

* cygwin home (could be reset to a different directory, useful to clear history)
C:\cygwin\home\mbg

* Windows Temp -- doesn't seem to have much personal data beyond what is cleared directly through clearing the IE cache
C:\WINDOWS\Temp

* Additional things include:
- removing all one's palm files (C:\...\palm)
- Disabling calendar sync stuff (e.g. change passwd on google calendar sync. & disable "syncmycal" agent)
- Start Picasa and remove all folders. Then it will compact its DB.
- Start firefox and delete all private data. Start IE and do the same .

10 February 2008

Thunderbird issues

"Thunderbird can't use the profile because it is in use to continue close the running instance of thunderbird"
In relation to the above error message found the only thing to cure this is to restart windows and re-run thunderbird.

The lock file that often gums up a thunderbird session is:
D:\vmshared\PERS\mailstuff\mbg\parent.lock

My other thunderbird hints are at: http://del.icio.us/mbgmbg/Link_ThunderbirdFixes

09 February 2008

Some Ipod Notes

Notes on water proofing an iPod
http://www.waterproofcases.net/headphones.html
http://ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/comments/otterbox-for-ipod-4g-photo-ipod/
http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/comments/h2o-audio-sv-imini-underwater-housing-ipod/
B0009I2M7C
B0009IZSAK
http://www.slicsound.com/ss001.asp

To reset an iPod with a Click Wheel
(below extracted from a page on the web)
Including the following:
* iPod mini
* iPod mini (Second Generation)
* iPod with color display (iPod photo)
* iPod (Click Wheel)
* iPod nano
* Fifth Generation iPod (also known as iPod with video)

1. Toggle the Hold switch on and off. (Slide it to Hold, then turn it off again.)

2. Press and hold the Menu and Select buttons until the Apple logo appears, about 6 to 10 seconds. You may need to repeat this step.

Tip: If you are having difficulty resetting your iPod, set it on a flat surface. Make sure the finger pressing the Select button is not touching any part of the click wheel. Also make sure that you are pressing the Menu button toward the outside of the click wheel, and not near the center.

If the above steps did not work, try connecting iPod to a power adapter and plug the power adapter into an electrical outlet, or connect iPod to your computer. Make sure the computer is turned on and isn't set to go to sleep
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61705

29 January 2008

WinXP within WinXP with VMware (BlogEntry_VMconfigT60b_Xmg)

This document contains some public notes I've made on the arduous process of getting VMware to run with a Win XP guest on a Win XP host. (One might wonder why I'm trying to do this, but this will take too much text here. I'll let any reader just speculate.) In general see below and some of my relevant del.icio.us links .

## Del.icio.us Links

My central collection of bookmarks around this endeavor is:
http://del.icio.us/mbgmbg/Useful_VMconfigT60b_Xmg

In addition, some extensions that I found useful for Firefox and Thunderbird
http://del.icio.us/mbgmbg/UsefulExtension

## Outlook

Getting Outlook to work with the Palm Treo and VMware

* Have to keep main outlook DB in
C:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Local Settings/Application Data/Microsoft/Outlook

Doesn't seem to work when moving it another location.

* archive stuff to archive.pst and then compacted

* When synching with the VMware and treo, host application often seizes the "context." This happens particularly on the second sync attempt. Have to tell it to "take no action" on a sync on the host application dialog box.

* See treo hints under http://del.icio.us/mbgmbg/useful_vminstalls to work with Verizon wireless sync.

## Blackberry
Works fine in VM

7750M_PBr4.0.0_rel201_PL1.5.0.30_A4.0.0.171.exe
BlackBerry_400_33_desktop_ml.exe
user "mbg"
Select "Blackberry Internet Email" Option

Run desktop mgr
set it to use USB
use default folder
C:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Application Data/Research In Motion/BlackBerry

## Thunderbird
Getting it to run in VM and then have it's mail directory outside.

* Install normally
but then edit c:/Documents and Settings/mbg/Application Data/Thunderbird/profiles.ini
to be thus:

[General]
StartWithLastProfile=1
[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=1
Path=Profiles/knnjxcfu.default
[Profile1]
Name=mbg
IsRelative=0
Path=J:/vmshared/PERS/mailstuff/mbg
Default=1
[Profile2]
Name=mbg2-yahoo
IsRelative=0
Path=J:/vmshared/PERS/mailstuff/mbg2
[Profile2]
Name=mbg-old-rec
IsRelative=0
Path=J:/vmshared/PERS/mailstuff/mbg-old-rec
[Profile3]
Name=mbg-old-sent
IsRelative=0
Path=J:/vmshared/PERS/mailstuff/mbg-old-sent

* To access profiles,
"C:/Program Files/Mozilla Thunderbird/thunderbird.exe" -ProfileManager

* Profile0 was there, now adding profile1
Thunderbird should then come up with full mail setup

* One has to install quicktext manually.
Then all the stuff should be there.

Make sure you check the auto download of messages.

## Google Earth
It runs under VMware but not in directX mode

## Itunes
Key point here is putting iTunes DB in another location and then configuring VMware to access this location with another.

## MS Office

* Installs fine on the VM
* Transferred settings from "office-saved-settings-for-MG-29Dec07.OPS"

However, then ran to documents to go problem -- interface with word was messed by copying over the prefs (see above). Found fix at http://support.dataviz.com/support.srch?docid=12792 , viz:

How to manually uninstall Word Add-In:
1. Open Word
2. Go into Tools menu
3. Click on Templates and Add-Ins
4. Uncheck DVZWDAddin.dot - this menu should then be removed
5. Close Word, then press CTRL-ALT-DELETE to bring up the Task Manager, and check to make sure all instances of WINWORD.EXE are closed
6. Go into the following directory: C:/Documents and Settings/<user name>/Application Data/Microsoft/Word/STARTUP
(NOTE: The Application Data folder is a hidden folder. If you can't see hidden folders, go to Tools > Folder Options, select the View tab, select the option to "Show hidden files and folders" and click OK.)
7. Delete the file "DVZWDAddin.dot" and all of its temp files (i.e. ~$ZWDAddin.dot)

## This doc

Tips in formatting include using ^l (in word) instead of ^p before import into Google Docs. Within GoogleDocs one can just do "shift-return" .